Recording level?

Rocinante

'Kay, I'm new to recording, so please forgive my naivety...

When recording digitally, what should the recording level average around? Is there an *ideal* level that a track should be recorded at so that there is enough room to play around with it when mixing? Then when mixing, do I try to get the whole mix to average between -1db and 0db?

Did any of this make sense? :)

Thanks for any advice..

Well not necessarily... keep your levels somewhere between -6 and just under 0 -- but NEVER hit 0!!! You needn't worry about S/N ratio the same way as you would for analog.

Bruce Valeriani
Blue Bear Sound

The average level you see during a recording is more dependent on the content. What you're trying to get a handle on are the peak levels. For digital tracking of real performers -1dB is not too risky if the performers have consistent levels. You can get it right up to the digital wall recording a computer controlled synth because you can dial it in after playing it through once. You can't count on that level of reproducibility in a live performance.

Someone here recently said you don't have to be pushing 0 dB all the time if you're operating in 24-bit. I believed it, and ever since then I've been tracking with the average level pushing -3. Much more relaxed.

Dobro,

You don't have to push 0 at 16-bit either - the range for getting full resolution (at 16-bit) is from -6 to 0 on the meters.

Bruce

Analog?

What about analog cassette? My Tascam 688 says turn the trim till the levels average 0db and the OL light only flickers rarely...wouldn't that be too loud and cause distortion? Since it says 'averages', would it be OK if it goes into the red, ESPECIALLY with drums?

Analog is completely different -- you absolutely WANT to record as hot as you can without distortion (unless you want that distortion for effect!) to maximize your signal-to-noise ratio.

Bruce Valeriani
Blue Bear Sound