Mixer or Interface or Both?

Theeoddname

So this is my goal:

Generally a two person host podcast in studio with up to two guests in studio and two remote guests via Skype or other source. Total max show capacity I’d like is between 6-8 (2-4 remote) but expect on the whole 4 people is about right with 2 remote. I’m not even sure if I’d ever have more than 2 remote guests but thought in theory it would be nice to have the option. So I really should say the general plan would be 2 in studio and up to 2 remote guests requiring the mix-minus set up.

I’d also like to be able to record a full drum kit which I suspect would be easy with the same gear from above.

Current gear:
Scarlett 2i2 Gen 3 (mostly for solo and travel use)
Clarett 4PreUSB
Mics
Logic Pro X
FCPX
MacBook Pro 15in, 16GB Ram
OBS Studio

So to get the use case above working I’m looking at getting a mixer but not sure if this is the best route. I’m considering a 16 channel Macke, Yamaha, or Soundcraft mixer.

I’m new to the audio recording thing and so I’m feeling overwhelmed and already had to send my Clarett in because it was defective (at least we think so).

Really I guess what I’m hoping for here is a little guidance on what gear would be ideal for the described use case above in such a way as to utilize and enhance what I’ve got already.

Also, for the mix-minus set up do I need to get software like Loopback for it or will getting a mixer be sufficient? After looking at the costs of getting Loopback (after it was suggested for use with OBS for streaming) I thought the price warranted getting a mixer (bc I somehow got the impression I wouldn’t need Loopback if I got a mixer).

Yeah I’m feeling lost and not even sure where to start so please help and forgive. Be gentile ? most of it I suspect will be user error anyhow.

Much appreciated for the help in advance.

Last edited: