Which Mic and USB Audio Interface for game streaming?

Procaster or AT2035

• R0de Procaster

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • Audio Technica 2035

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Stuartd

Oh man,

Hi everyone this is my first post so be gentle, I have been looking to get into some game streaming over on Twitch.tv. After many hours I am no closer to knowing what to buy. I am also new to anything above USB mics audio wise.

As my room is not treated and there can be road noise as well as chair, keyboard and mouse clicking. Let me start with rejected setup;

R0de Procaster > Behringer X1204USB £251

Looking online the beyringer does not get great reviews so I ruled it out.

R0de Procaster > Focusrite 2I2 £215

R0de twitter put me onto Focusrite, Focusrite then suggested the 2I2, however looking online people say it doesn't have enough gain and you need a good 56db for the procaster. I don't however due to cost reasons want to buy a Cloudlifter or similar as it seems to be getting overly complicated and expensive. The last thing I want however is low levels for live recording as I can't bump it up afterwards in post. Next

R0de Procaster > Focusrite 6I6 £278 Possible setup

Contrasting opinion about whether this actually has 60db of gain but people say this has enough grunt, seems like a gamble though and how much noise is getting right into the top end of the gain going to create.

Audio Technica > Focusrite 2i2 £222 Possible setup

So I started thinking of ditching the procaster and using a the AT2035 condenser, I know this is decent entry level and the Focusrite has Phantom Power so it will have enough juice to retain decent levels. Obvious downside to this is that there will potentially be much more noise introduced this way. However better that than having a really quiet mic.