Recording Drums: Need help recording cymbals

1Drumz

So, I'm a drummer, and wanted to record drums for fun. I bought myself some equipment (mics, audio interface etc), but am not getting the sound that I'm looking when it comes to the cymbals (the rest is fine). The main problem for me is that the drum recordings and drum covers that you see around the internet have the crash cymbals sounding quite high pitched (at least to my ears). I have a 16" and 18" crash, which are not particularly large crashes, but they sound very different in my own recordings, than they usually sound in professional recordings, the main difference being the pitch of the sound (mine sound a lot lower pitched). I'm very new to recording, so this might be a stupid question, but I was wondering how the sound engineers achieved this 'higher pitched' sound. Is it mic placement? EQ? Pitch shifting?
I've set up my overheads as a spaced pair.