Recording a Clarinet

John p

Hi, i'm a complete beginner when it comes to recording so please keep it simple! (I'm well acquainted with composing and mixing however)

Firstly, I'm using a blue yeti usb microphone.
I tried recording myself playing the clarinet however there were several problems - tone, loud tongue sounds. I've experimented with distances of the microphone and found the best sound when placed 1-2 metres from the centre holes, it's not great, but good enough. The sound of the tongue against the reed was very audible and amplified - It sounds nothing like this in real life. I tried EQ which helped but then lost the character of the clarinet. I've set the polar pattern to cardioid.

Is it a problem with the microphone itself, as I realise it's very cheap and most likely suited more for voice - I heard ribbon mics would give the best sound for clarinets.
Or is it a problem with the way i've set it up? Could I process the sound afterwards?
Or do you think that all of this is fine and that It must be my playing...

What is the best setup for recording a clarinet without spending additional money?
More importantly, how can I reduce the tonguing noise?

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong section or something - I'm new here :)

Last edited:
It's worth looking into a ribbon mic, something like the beyerdynamic m130 would be a very good choice. Wind instruments are renound for being difficult to capture.

It's worth looking into a ribbon mic, something like the beyerdynamic m130 would be a very good choice. Wind instruments are renound for being difficult to capture.

Hi, thanks for the reply.
Do you know how I can improve the sound just by changing my setup and the way i've recorded it? I want to try get the best sound before purchasing other equipment.

tongue noise = player technique

Same with saxophone (which I play as well as clarinet)

You'll also want to turn the gain down a bit and play louder.
Condenser mics are very sensitive.