recording acoustic grand pianos

zippydw

First I am no pro at recording. Not even a competent hobbyist.

Now. Whenever I record an acoustic piano, particularly grands, the sound always sounds 'warbley' or has an odd tremolo even if it is in good tuning. Has anyone had any experience in getting good quality rendition of piano?

I have a project where I want to record a Yamaha Grand. I plan to use a Fostex MR 8-markII digital recorder.

Any advice appreciated

There are a lot (a LOT) of variables when recording piano -- Some additional info would help.

1) Your current selection of available mics/preamps/etc.

2) The intended recording space is (large, small, a living room, a gymnasium, live, dead, well-treated, etc., etc.)...

3) The intention of the recording itself is (solo intimate, solo 'live,' ensemble intimate, jazz, etc., etc., etc.).

In other words, the 'subject matter' is going to dictate what the better techniques would be. In many cases, a simple stereo pair of SDC omnis, maybe a foot apart and six feet away just above the lid-line on the short stick of a C7 in a good (or at least 'applicable') space is going to be a fine starting point. If you want more hammer for a very "close up" and intimate sound, adding a LDD (on a piece of foam please...) off-axis, taped right over the third or fourth harp hole (from the high end), pointed toward the center of the hammer line will give you that option (you may need to time-align the resulting tracks). Pan the omnis wide and center the LDD and you're off to the races.

Other times, that particular technique will fall flat - Not what I'd want for a jazz ensemble or a "My Funny Valentine" recording - in which case, a pair of SDC's about a foot out from the hammer line and 8 inches above the harp cutting the line in thirds would be a better starting point.

It's a 'what have you got vs. what are you going for' thing...