Record through an old P.A. Amp for effects possibly?

JasperJHeins

Hey all! Jasper here!

I recently stumbled upon a Realistic MPA-40 35 Watt P.A. Amp. and i really want to record through it to get some effects or just to see how it would sound and what i could potentially use it for as effects on vocals, or on guitar! I have a Presonus Firestudio Project Firewire interface that i record through, and a Mac G5 2010 Tower, any suggestions??

No idea how you'd get your audio out from there into a line level into your interface. If it had some RCA outputs, then you could just get a cable that goes from RCA to 1/4" TRS and straight into your interface's line input, but the only outputs are for speaker wire. I'm no electrician so I have no idea if there is a way. Well I'm sure there is, but at what cost?

Yeah i know what you mean, but there is a Phono/Aux out on the bac of the P.A. Amp whichi are RCA ins /: Yeah this is quite the conundrum...

RecordingMaster is right.
In terms of putting it in the signal path somehow, it's not really a goer.

If you want to create the effect of using a PA for some reason, maybe you could have your mic running into the PA and out to loudspeakers, then have a mic plugged into your interface to capture the live room PA sound?

Since the PA unit has no built in effects like reverbs/echos/whatever, that's about the only useful thing you could do with it I think.

I wonder if there is some sort of way to re-wire it to act as a PreAmp of some sort?