Question about recording

wolf70

Hi,

I am not exactly new to recording, but I am new to computer recording, so I hoping to get some good advice from some of the experts here. I would really appreciate any help.

I currently have a very basic setup for recording acoustic guitars and vocals and was thinking of switching over from my Yamaha mt8x (8 track cassette recorder) to a computer based setup and am looking for some good advice on what to use. Unless you can recommend some other low cost ways to record that would be cheaper, but still as high quality as possible.

First, I was thinking of getting a better soundcard for my computer and am looking for opinions as to what would be decent for starting out with for computer recording? I was recommended to get a Creative Emu 0404 pci card (24 bit/96KHz) for $100., is that a good card? Or should I look for something better? I don't really want to spend more than $100. for a soundcard unless it is really necessary to get a good quality recording.

For software I currently have Audacity and Kristal for recording. Are these good enough for a high quality recording?

I don't want to spend a lot of cash upgrading to expensive software and hardware, but would still like to get as pro a sound as possible.

Perhaps if I just continued to record to my 8 track and then from that to the computer I could still get a good quality recording? Or is it recommended to go straight into the computer, and record direct to the software, and just avoid the 8 track completely for the highest quality sound recording? I do like analog recording though, but I do want to get the highest quality recording I can.

I know I also probably need some new mics. I currently have some halfway decent sounding mics (a peavey and a no-name brand) but probably not the best for recording acoustic guitar and vocals. So any low cost but good suggestions would be helpful there as well.