Question about mid side recording.

cfg

I just bought a Shure MV88, which is a mic for iphones. So far I like it, but I'm confused about something. It has a mid side setting. Now I am brand new to mid side recording, but the one thing I have read and noted is that you have to set up the track properly in order to take advantage of the mid side function. However, when I play the mid side recorded track back on the iphone with headphones, I can hear music in both channels. The question is, what is it that I'm hearing? Is is just the mid, just the sides, or some other combination? I know I have to move it into a daw and set it up for mid side, but it would be nice to know exactly what I'm hearing first so I have some idea as to what I'm previewing.

Does the mic have 2 diaphragms? (i.e. a stereo mic) If not, then as BSG suggests, it's processing the sound by flipping the phase on one side. Problem with this is if you sum the left & right to mono, they cancel each other out.

According to the Shure site and MV88 manual, it's a real MS microphone, but most users will select one of the modes, like Singing, Acoustic, etc., and those do the processing to convert the MS recorded data to stereo (LR).

If you want to do the MS processing in a DAW, you need to set it to RAW mode. Then, after copying the two tracks (center and side) you'll have to duplicate the side track and flip polarity of one. (This is what I had to do with the Zoom H6 I had when using the MS capsule.)

I've heard some recordings with these and they can do a good job. Certainly a lot better than the built in mic, once you get the position right.

P.S. [MENTION=199965]cfg[/MENTION] - never hurts to start here:
Shure Publications | User Guides | ShurePlus MOTIV

That's a pretty cool little mic. Might have to pick one of those up. M/S recording on an iphone... nice.

Thanks for all the replies.