"Proper" way to work with external fx in a small DAW?

DisplacedGopher

I'm using Cubase on a really slow computer that can't handle a lot of plugins. I have an M-Audio Firewire Audiophile 2-in, 4-out interface, both outs going to a mixer (Peavey PV10) and the mixer's main outs going to the Audiophile. I also have a multi-fx box (Alesis Q2) interfaced to the mixer in the aux loop, and I am a solo musician so I record one track at a time from the mixer.

Basically I am wondering, what is the ideal way to take advantage of external effects in this type of setup? Is it possible to use external fx boxes like plugins? I take it I would need an individual fx box for each different individual effected track, and then apply them to the track at the mixer through the channel inserts? Is there an easier way to apply fx to tracks in Cubase, with an external fx box, besides playing back each track in Cubase through the effects processor one-by-one and recording them back individually into Cubase? I imagine it would be easier if I had an 8-in, 8-out audio interface?

Basically I'd just rather spend $50 on used eBay effects processors than $800 on a new computer. I also like the no-latency advantage of hardware.

I think you have the basic idea down, as to what you have to do. I don't use Cubase, but most software will let you send all channels to one place, say FX1, if you want to apply an fx to all things...say a verb. But most tracks may need individual sounds, so you will have to process those individually, unless you have enough outs, and FX boxes.