Pre-amps and Setting The Correct Levels

alvinthedrummer

Hi,

I'm pretty new to the scene and desperately need some help.

I am planning to record some live vocals, drums and guitars. I will be lining mics into dbx mini-preamps and then from the preapms to my soundcard. I'm using cubase sx in my computer to capture the recordings. Now here are my questions:

1)How do I determine the right levels to set on the preamps and also in cubase sx? Some say to set the levels in cubase to max and then play around with the preamp, but I've also heard of some saying to set the preamp to max (just so it doesn't clip) and then play around in cubase....i'm pretty confused here...which is the best way?

2)I've got a 20db pad button, and a phase button on my preamp, what are they used for? Could someone please give me some examples of use for these?

Thanks in advance!

Leave the levels in cubase at unity gain (0db) and set the preamp so that cubase's meter seems to be dancing around -12db. Sometimes it will be over, sometimes under, just as long as it doesn't clip. Instruments with large transients (like drums) you will just have to makes sure it doesn't clip, I set mine so that it doesn't go above -4db. With electric (distorted) guitars and other instruments with less transient and more sustain, they will sit around -12db

The 20db pad is used when you have a very loud source. If you turn the preamp all the way down but are still getting too much level, you engage the pad. It turns the signal down another 20db so you can get a good level.

The phase switch is used when you want to reverse the polarity of a signal. Like when you mic the top and bottom of a snare drum. When you hit the snare drum, the top head is moving away from the top mic, but the bottom head is moving toward the bottom mic. When you mix these mics together, you will get some phase cancelation. If you reverse the phase of one of the mics, it will fix this problem