Please listen to this song and tell me how I can improve vocal quality.

BryBry

Hey guys, I am new to this recording thing. I recently got myself a Condencer Mic(AKG Perception 120), PreAmp(Scarlet 2i2), a Mac(with Garageband), headphones, a pop filter, and a stand.
I know Im not going to get truly professional quality out of this set up, but I really want ot make the most out of it. I guess I am asking what you guys think I can do to improve my vocal quality on my songs.

I haven't touched my room acoustically, because I am not really sure what I would do. So if you guys think I need to do that, are there any cheap ways to accomplish that?

I am a rapper, and I love making music. It's so much fun to me.

I guess Im just asking you guys to give one of my songs a listen and tell me what it sounds like I need to do to get the quality the best I can.

Fast forward to like :30 seconds in. That's where I start rapping.
Here's an example of my music.

Last edited:
I just realized when I turn the gain down on my interface it increases the quality a lot. I am a big noob here. So any other tips would be appreciated.

As you have discovered you do not need to record a 0dB. Setting gain and level to record in the -18dB to -12dB is best. Sounds like you may need to work on your 'ess' problem.

How would I improve my ess?
I just got to tell a long time musician friend about turning away a bit for the p' pops, and he was like 'wow that's so cool -and logical! ..How come I never knew!? :)
File under Lots o' little stuff ya pick up as you go ' box.

Last edited:
How would I improve my ess?