Are PADs for XLR-in on an audio interface necessary for recording an electric guitar?

bansheeboogaloo

Hi all, I'm trying to research but I'm very new to recording and I'm getting a little bit confused. My goal is to record some videos of myself playing guitar, and I want to get the best audio possible. Up until now, I've just been using my iPhone and a tripod haha!

I'm planning to buy a Two Notes Torpedo Captor X as it seems like the best option for me since I'm in a condo and can't be too loud and also don't want to buy a bunch of mics and have to deal with all the setup etc. The Captor X has two XLR outputs, so I know I'll need to buy an audio interface. However, in my research I've come across some conflicting information:

The video "Tutorial: Home Recording On A Budget" by Riffs, Beards, and Gear (I can't put a link because I just made this account) made me think that pads are crucial, after googling to find out what they are. But the article "Why You Should Consider Using a DI Box" on Fender's website says that a DI box (which I think the Captor X might be as well?) will balance out that signal to make the interface happy, so maybe I might be ok getting an interface without pads.

I'm just trying to make sure that my recordings don't become super clippy or anything. Will I be ok with an interface without pads or are they necessary?

Right now I'm thinking of the Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 because it's pretty much the updated version of the one in the tutorial video. But seeing as my only goal is to record guitar parts, 4ins and outs might be a bit more that what I need. So if PAD buttons aren't totally necessary to record through the Captor X, then I might be able to save some money.