Overhauling home recording gear

Remolino

Hi everyone I need your advice.
I've been meaning to get around to this for a very long time. So, I'm a flamenco guitarist and actually recorded an album of my own music more than 20 years ago, back in 1997 to be precise. Yep I can't believe it was that long ago. So you may chuckle a bit when I tell you what my set-up was. Tascam digital portastudio 564 recording on to minidisc (this was a 4-track but could bounce up to 10), a Lexicon Reflex rack reverb unit (amazing unit), Alesis SR16 drum unit, 2 x Audio Technica AT835b pencils (can't remember why I went with those tbh), pair of Absolute 2 Spirit monitors (although I ended up putting on my earphones most of time).
The sound from one of the tracks can be heard on my YouTube channel, look up "Dunc Eduardo Remolino Eterno Track 2". Don't think I can include link here as a newbie.
I recorded in a fairly large room with high ceilings and wooden flooring and had a bit of air and echo. Main issue was trying to get mic placement and also correct levels to get maximum gain without distortion. I didn't use compression. I still have all that equipment. The challenge with this style is that within one track I can have heavy strumming and then very reflective and long sustain with sweet high treble notes the next phrase.