Orchestra Recording

acattoir

Hi, I'm an orchestra recording novice. I feel as though my recordings have too much punch?? or maybe the sound is too
solid. The sound I am trying to emulate is more delicate and polite. I am using cardioid condensers, mxl, superlux and rode. I have tried coincident stereo pair and spaced pair, same punchy sound just different imaging. I will invest in a pair of good omni's, if that is the solution. Is there some processing that would help? The omni mics I am considering are the Shure ksm141's. I read lot's of good things about earthworks, but the self noise looks higher than the competion by quite a bit. I cannot afford anything like the Royer ribbons, Scheops or other exotic stuff. Thanks for the input.
Andy

First off, you need to give more info and details like, what are you recording to? What's the orchestra, a 100 piece symphony orchestra or a 12 persons school big band?
How's the room?

It seems to me that you think you will get a better sound by better mics, but you seek in the wrong direction IMHO.

Indeed great mics will help, but it's all about engineering skill and mic placement.

Thanks, To be brief. 28 piece all strings, 60 piece all strings, 110 piece all strings. These are all school orchestras so I know part of the difficulity is the actual sound coming from the instruments. One room was a fairly dead theater, lots of curtains. one gym with some sound treatment, and one fairly reverberant recital hall. I am using an Allen and Heath console, direct out with no eq into a Fostex d2424lv hard disk recorder. Mic placement, "spaced"
about 10 feet apart and 12 feet off the floor 3 feet behind the conductor with the mics pointed roughly at the back row of the group. The "pair" placement was the same only with the mics 7 inches apart at about 90 degrees to each other. Sorry for the triple post.
Andy

Andy, there are a number of stereo placements which you can find on the DPA website under 'microphone university'