New, Old Stock Headphones Question

raybbj

So I've been using the same pair of headphones for the past 25 years. I won't say the make/model as that's not the point. They get used daily. I loved them so much I bought a new spare pair around 16 years ago and put them away for a rainy day. Maybe that was a bad idea.

Well it's finally starting to rain and I busted out the "new" pair and they sound horrible.
They are much louder than my old pair, but there are no highs to speak of. It's like anything over 4 or 6 KHz is missing. The bass is flabby and not tight. The whole thing is very mid range'y and honky.

2 theories. My 25 year old pair is incredibly broken in with great, full dynamic range and the 16 year old new pair have very stiff drivers that have never moved and need a tonne of exercise I could try pumping some pink noise into them for 50 to 100 hours, but the difference in sound is so dramatic, I don't know if it will make a difference. Maybe I need to pump some serious bass into the cans to really get those drivers moving. I'm not sure.

I might be in the market for a new set all together, but would love to be able to get my 16 year old new spare cans working.

Any insights would be appreciated.

So when you bought the second pair 16 years ago...you never even checked them for a few minutes...you just put the unopened box away?

I would say that if you HAD checked them 16 years ago, and they sounded about the same...but now they don't...then maybe your old pair have truly been "worn in" quite a lot...though TBH, I find that not a valid perspective, for them to be THAT much different just from lots of use...unless there was heavy abuse.

Here's the important question...if you can remember, going back 25 years when you first bought the original pair, did they sound horrible, as you describe the second pair to be?
I would think if they sounded good out of the box...then the second pair should too, and it's got little to do with breaking them in.