Need Help With Recording Several Mics Simultaneously!

1Drumz

Hi,
I'm new to the forum and recording in general (so have some patience with my cluelessness).
I am a drummer and wanted to start recording my instrument using 2 Overhead Condenser Mics, and two dynamic mics for snare and bass drum.
So assuming I have all the mics and right cables, what would I need to get to be able to record 3 individual tracks (1 for Bass drum mic, 1 for snare drum mic, and 1 for the 2 overheads) simultaneously on my DAW on a computer?
Am I correct in believing I need a 4X4 audio interface?

You got it! A 4x4 interface would do the job. Although a little room for growth never hurts, so maybe something with 8 or more inputs would be preferable, depending on your budget. You never know when you might go all Terry Bozzio and want 20 mics on your kit or something :)

You got it! A 4x4 interface would do the job. Although a little room for growth never hurts, so maybe something with 8 or more inputs would be preferable, depending on your budget. You never know when you might go all Terry Bozzio and want 20 mics on your kit or something :)

Thanks for the response!

But I don't quite get it. If, as I mentioned, I wanted to record 3 separate tracks simultaneously, wouldn't I also need to have 3 different outputs from my audio interface going to 3 different inputs on my computer? (I don't think my computer can do that)

Thanks for the response!

But I don't quite get it. If, as I mentioned, I wanted to record 3 separate tracks simultaneously, wouldn't I also need to have 3 different outputs from my audio interface going to 3 different inputs on my computer? (I don't think my computer can do that)