Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Need Help With Recording Several Mics Simultaneously!

Thanks

Need Help With Recording Several Mics Simultaneously!

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi,
    I'm new to the forum and recording in general (so have some patience with my cluelessness).
    I am a drummer and wanted to start recording my instrument using 2 Overhead Condenser Mics, and two dynamic mics for snare and bass drum.
    So assuming I have all the mics and right cables, what would I need to get to be able to record 3 individual tracks (1 for Bass drum mic, 1 for snare drum mic, and 1 for the 2 overheads) simultaneously on my DAW on a computer?
    Am I correct in believing I need a 4X4 audio interface?

Thanks
    You got it! A 4x4 interface would do the job. Although a little room for growth never hurts, so maybe something with 8 or more inputs would be preferable, depending on your budget. You never know when you might go all Terry Bozzio and want 20 mics on your kit or something

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Tadpui For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Tadpui View Post
    You got it! A 4x4 interface would do the job. Although a little room for growth never hurts, so maybe something with 8 or more inputs would be preferable, depending on your budget. You never know when you might go all Terry Bozzio and want 20 mics on your kit or something
    Thanks for the response!

But I don't quite get it. If, as I mentioned, I wanted to record 3 separate tracks simultaneously, wouldn't I also need to have 3 different outputs from my audio interface going to 3 different inputs on my computer? (I don't think my computer can do that)

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by 1Drumz View Post
    Thanks for the response!