Natural, raw and minimal VS. Multi-tracked, multi-effects and over-dubbing??

Obstacle1

I was just wondering whether people prefer recordings to be base, minimal and replicate the raw natural elements of a song or whether they prefer a song with plenty of effects, over-dubs and layers to it? Or even a balance of the two? I understand that genre comes into play here but just interested in other people's thoughts... :)

I think in general: the better the song the more raw it can be recorded/mixed, but not nescesarily...eh, yeah

Generally, I think that when I listen to music, I prefer it to sound stripped-down (even when it isn't).

It's often a revelation to hear a song done stripped down. Example - Bowie doing a live, acoustic version of Heroes. It can shine.

If a song can't be done that way, I'm not sure it is something I would want to listen to cluttered up to be honest.

I am pretty new to recording, and I was initially tempted into trying to dress stuff up that couldn't stand alone by adding bits - thinking it would improve it. I was trying to polish a turd.

Now I am focusing on trying to record something simply and well. And it's a steep learning curve for me!

When I can do that, I may start to add other bits (keeping them simple too). I would hope that the end result retains that uncluttered feel.

Maybe it does depend on genre though, as you say.

I prefere the raw vibe no matter how it gets there (one take or 40,000 over dubs). I do believe that a band playing/recording as much of a tune "live" to tape produces that vibe much more easily than going in one instrument at a time. The way a tune ebbs and flows when musicians play off of each other that can produce those happy accidents. I think I've tracked some very cool tunes both ways however.

live essence