minimum gear requirements for rec radio ready vocals? +upgrade question

nsta555

hi guys
firstoff thx for replying
#1 - A general question
In regards to rec vocals only (as all i rec are vocals), i currently have a $400 usb interface (audient id14) paired with a similar priced mics (akg c214). In this budget calibre is it possible to record the raw vocals to a pro standard? (i know the importance of room treatment and skill of actually mixing/master plays a heavy role, so lets assume the room and mixing is utmost professionally done and the singer is awesome) Is the GEAR i mentioned going to cut it? or would i have to invest more to be able to get the raw vocal good enough ?

#2 which leads to question 2:
(im quite new to audiogear so pls forgive me if this is a dumb question) ive got $800 to spend and my goal is to be able to record a raw vocal good enough for commercial level song , should i upgrade the interface to a higher end one (RME Fireface UC or SPL Crimson etc used prices)

or should i buy a preamp such as ISA One, Grace m101 and add it to my chain

would upgrading from a 400$ tier to 1000$ tier interface make a difference? or would adding a external pre help more? or should i even upgrade at all?
#needing some pro advice thx

Last edited: