Making my voice "rough" for rock songs

Drummerbones

I'm an accomplished rock drummer and guitarist/songwriter. I have played in several bands as the drummer while writing the majority of the music and lyrics in the past. These days I mostly just do session work or create my own music in my studio. Here's my problem...I can write good rock songs and I was blessed with the ability to sing....like Garth Brooks or Kenny Chesney! Ugh...while this certainly helps when I write and record country music, it shoots me in the foot when creating rock music. I have to bring in my rock singer buddy to lay down my vocals.

Long story short, are there any tricks any of you use to "rough up" a vocal? Distortion? Effects? I realize that the end result will be processed and I will never pass for Phil Ansomo or Layne Staley, but is there any approach I can take to get closer to what I want? I appreciate your input

There's no effect you can buy that will give you what you want.

I'm going to suggest that you're wanting something that's not worthwhile.

For years I tried to sing "rough." I have the tapes to prove that it sucked. Once I began simply singing naturally, it didn't suck anymore. In fact, I'm pretty good.

Just be yourself.

My vocalist has that "rough" style. He does it on command pretty much. He can go from all pretty to a rock style vocal at the drop of a hat.

I should ask him how he does it...never bothered to before.

Hi..

do you mean rough up a recorded vox take? You can try duplicating the track, throwing on a virtual guitar amp with some distortion,..bring it back up under the original.

Live - if yoiu mean that, raspy-type rock voice,..thats all throat, or 'the incorrect' way of singing. People who smoke seem to have the ability to do this.

Actually.. a vocal instructor I know can sing like anyone..the 'right' way, from the diaphragm, and can nail that raspyness...

Cheers,

-LIMiT