Layering and Mixing Guitars !!!!!!!

halo206

Hello,

Im recording a bunch of music for a disc, and I'm kind of new at this whole thing(recording), so i wanted to get some perspective on what other people out there are doing as far as mixing for guitar. I'm running an American Strat through a Focusrite Voicemaster Platinum, into a Tascam Fw-1184 and then into Cubase SX.

The parts I'm having trouble mixing well are the distorted guitar parts. I just cant get them to sound good and/or mix well with vocals and bass. By the way most of the stuff im doing is guitar/keys/bass/drums/vocals. Can anyone give me some good tips on layering or mixing or anything. What do you guys do when your mix distorted guitars?!

- Mike

Basically, keeping the distortion and bass lower than any other time and to make it a tad brighter and crank the mids. That is the basics for going in. It makes mixing them a lot easier and ends with a better result.

Hi I,m Mark,
I get great sounds from recording distorted guitar.
Firstly I tune the guitar up a half tone so the strings are tighter,so what you play in the key of A on the fifth fret is now played in the A flat position.....

The strings being tighter give me a much inhanced sound.....Ac/Dc use this techneque alot...

Next I don't record using the mic milking tech,I get a signal direct from the speaker on my amp and directly to sound card....M audio Delta 44..
I do this by putting a resistor on the hot line of the speaker to the tip lug on the 1/4 inch female input jack ....the cold wire goes direct from neg from the speaker to neg on the 1/4 inch input jack... Start with a million OHM Resistor first and work from there....Example My onboard computer card I have a 3 million ohm resistor(so the input was to hot) But on the delta 44 I have only 100K Ohm to satisfy signal strength....You will have to experiment
Mark thegoodegg@dodo.com.au

DO NOT PUT SPEAKER OUTPUT INTO A MIXER OR ANY OTHER DEVICE