Interface suggestions?

BenjaminC

Hi Guys,

I am new on the forum & new to recording. I am a drummer & I am looking for suggestions on an interface with 8pre's and a pair of monitors to track drums. My budget is $1500 for both, not including software.

I have a great kit & a great set of mics. (Anchor Drums 4 plies of Mahogany w/ a natural walnut outer ply and 10ply reinforcement rings & Heil HDK-8 pack.) for those who care. I also have a pair of Audix Condensers.

I would like to run Presonus StudioOne 2.5 Pro, as my guitarist is already using studio one and has a 2 channel interface. This way we can send new material back and forth in the writing process. I also want to get the highest quality recording I can.

I am open to buying equipment & having it modded if it means getting the best sound.

Thanks in advance for any help & Suggestions

-Ben

Hello , I can tell you what I have done for percussion. For a home situation on a budget the Alesis synthethic trigger system with ez drummer, is hard to beat. You tap it in on the pads and play it out. No worries about room or mic-ing. Then edit it in the midi window with the dots. The ability to stretch and edit the measure is incredible, and really gives some latitude for weaker players, like me. I am not the best drummer , but find ways to capture the excitement.

Here is a 30 sec clip using the Alesis drums off reel.
View attachment ffcdc.mp3

I had quite a bit of luck with the Tascam US1800. Most all of the samples on my website are recorded with it. I have since moved on to better interfaces, but can't say the preamps sound any better to me.

I would rather see you spend more on your monitors and room treatment, than a bunch of money on an interface. Just my opinion.

Not that I'm trying to hijack your thread, but I was about to post a very similar question. I'm finding it a bit tricky to sort through all the info online to work out what's going to suit me the best.