Interface - 8 Mic Inputs - Best one?

DeadlySurfer

Hey,

So I'm currently doing a college course in the UK on music technology. I know a bit about interfaces etc, but I'm a self confessed newbie.

A friend and I are looking to start a small 'business', recording bands etc. When I say recording, I mean demo quality as it won't be in a studio, and we won't have much dinero to spend, but we wan't it to sound the best it can.

So I'm looking at upgrading my old Line 6 UX2 interface, to something that can handle band needs.

My requirements as I see them are:

8 mic inputs
Phantom power
2 Headphone feeds (If possible)
USB or Firewire (Whichever is best)
And a good quality all round sound (i.e preamps etc)

So I'm looking at the £400 mark really.
Two that have caught my eye are the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, and the M-Audio Profire 2626.

Can anyone tell me which is best, or if there's a better one availible for the money?

And one quick question, with the duel headphone outs, could the musician and I be listening to the exact same thing? Such as them playing?

Thanks,

Jack.

Hey,

So I'm currently doing a college course in the UK on music technology. I know a bit about interfaces etc, but I'm a self confessed newbie.

A friend and I are looking to start a small 'business', recording bands etc. When I say recording, I mean demo quality as it won't be in a studio, and we won't have much dinero to spend, but we wan't it to sound the best it can.

So I'm looking at upgrading my old Line 6 UX2 interface, to something that can handle band needs.

My requirements as I see them are:

8 mic inputs
Phantom power
2 Headphone feeds (If possible)
USB or Firewire (Whichever is best)
And a good quality all round sound (i.e preamps etc)

So I'm looking at the £400 mark really.
Two that have caught my eye are the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, and the M-Audio Profire 2626.

Can anyone tell me which is best, or if there's a better one availible for the money?