I really need some help with technique. Looking for pointers.

Lempface

Okay, so I'm pretty new to recording and have little to no idea how to use what gear I do have.

Mics:
MXL 990
MXL 991
Nady Star Power 1 x2

Pres:
Studio Projects VTB1
FocusRite stock on Mbox x 2

Interface:
DigiDesign Mbox

Software:
Protools LE
T-Racks

Okay I'd appreciate some advice for recording with what I DO have, not what I SHOULD have.

Here is a sample of something I've recorded one take, yea I suck so spare me.

As you can obviously tell the guitar is thin and meh, there is alot of buzz, I have no idea how compression works or how to use threshold, knee, and gain to make it sound better.

Here are some areas where I'm confused on.

On the Mbox what kinda input levels do I want on the sources? High/low? How do I tell? Where should my levels be on ProTools? How the hell do I compress/limit/eq so I can get something that sounds good?

Sorry for sounding like a complete newbie but I really like to play and record and want to get something that sounds good.

---

As it stands I've been using the 991 at about a 45 degree angle up 12 - 16 inches from the 12th fret with the source gain set at about 75%

Blue bear will show up with a link to mixing 101. Read it. Then read it again. Repeat.

You might want to read the manual that came with the M-box, that will tell you all about the how to set levels on the unit.

For an accoustic guitar, I would set the levels so they peak no higher than -6dbfs. I would also be using 2 mics. 1 at the twelfth fret, like you have it and another pointing at the bridge.

If you don't know how to use a compressor, don't use one. It sounded like all that room noise was being brought up by bad compressor settings.

It will take a lot of time and a lot of study before you will be able to record tracks that you will be proud of. It isn't really hard, it is just involved.