How to use Beta58A or Shure SM 58 at home for recordings?

music_bee

Hello guys,

I am completely new to the topic connected with microphones. I have singing experience and now I would like to set a microphone at my home. However, I am not sure if I would need anything else for a wireless microphone. Is it necessary to have a mixer or interface? How to connect Beta58A or Shure SM58?

Thank you so much in advance!:):):)

Interface for sure. What is your budget and what do you intend to do? Just record over backing tracks?

And welcome to the forum!

Hello guys,

I am completely new to the topic connected with microphones. I have singing experience and now I would like to set a microphone at my home. However, I am not sure if I would need anything else for a wireless microphone. Is it necessary to have a mixer or interface? How to connect Beta58A or Shure SM58?

Thank you so much in advance!:):):)
I'm assuming you have a wireless microphone rig that consists of a wireless microphone and a receiver? The wireless bit only gets the audio signal from the mic to the corresponding receiver, which will have a microphone (XLR) jack on the back that needs to be connected to the next piece via a short mic cable. So, yes, you need an [audio] interface to connect to the computer, whether that is just an interface or a mixer with digital output capability, typically a USB connection. (If your computer already equipped with a "soundcard" that had decent analog to digital (A/D) converters, you can plug directly into that, but probably still need an adapter cable. This is a less common setup these days, TBH.)

Maybe more info on the equipment you have (mic/receiver/computer, anything else) would help.

Thanks for your quick answer! Are any of those suitable: Presonus Audiobox
ART USB Dual Pre
Line6 UX2

I intend to sing and use it probably for voice acting. Should I choose BETA 58A and which interface would be suitable?

The budget...probably something like 300 euros.