How to save tracks on O2R to mix and master with pro-tools?

db51

My band is going to be recording soon in a studio based around a yamaha O2R console. At the same time, my university gives me free access to a machintosh pro-tools system, so I'd like to do the mixing and mastering myself (to save some money, I'm a student :-)). Is there anyway to save the recorded tracks from the O2R on a zip, jazz, cd or whatever to be able to take it to the pro-tools studio for the mixing? What are the pros/cons of doing this

Thanks

Hmmmmmmmm...

Your question seems to suggest that you are not terribly up on all the stuff about computers and mixing and what not. First off, the O2R is a digital mixing board, not a recording machine.

This is a question that would be better suited for the studio you are going to record at. You will probably need to find out just what all your options are for getting track in the ProTools system. That will dictate whether the studio you are recording at has the capability of giving your the individual tracks on a format that will interface with the ProTools system or not.

This seems like a weird combination. You are going to track at a studio, but mix it yourself. Usually this game is played the other way around, the artist records it and takes it to a studio to have it mixed and mastered. I will not comment on the many potentials of inexperienced mixing engineers messing up perfectly good sounding tracks a professional recorded.

Anyway, check with the studio about how they might be able to help you with this. Hell, I don't even know what recording format you are recording too, so nobody is going to be able to help you with your question until we know that....

Good luck.

Ed