How to isolate the guide vocal when recording an acoustic guitar?

Muddy T-Bone

Sorry, I'm a newbie asking a question that's likely been asked 100 times B4.....

How does one construct a mechanical shield, or select the right mic pick up patterns, to isolate the guide vocal when recording an acoustic guitar using 2 mics - 1 on the 12th fret, 1 on the sound hole, as well as a vocal mic for guide vocals.

My concern is how to isolate the guide vocal from bleeding into (as much as possible) the guitar mic's when laying down the actual vocal track later on.

Thanks in advance.

Well....why not just record a guide vocal + guitar track...then simply re-record the keeper guitar track without any vocals...
...or, just record the guitar first, then record the guide vocal.

Why do you need to record both guide vocal and keeper guitar track at the same time...???

Well....why not just record a guide vocal + guitar track...then simply re-record the keeper guitar track without any vocals...
...or, just record the guitar first, then record the guide vocal.

Why do you need to record both guide vocal and keeper guitar track at the same time...???

Oh I see, your suggesting do the procedure in reverse as to how I was laying the process out in my mind..makes sense sort of. Except that I would do twice the work. Guitar+Guide Vox---} re-record guitar for final, listening to guide vox---} lay final vocal over re-recorded guitar.

Why record guide and keeper simultaneously? I like to work fast and waste the least amount of time.

I still think working with a mechanical shield to isolate as much guide vocal bleeding into the guitar mic's and selecting the proper mic pattern on the guitar mics, I can save a step. Perhaps your suggestion is the only way to go about this. Like a said I'm a newbie.

If anyone has suggestions on guitar mic pickup pattern selection, and construction of a mechanical shield to help isolate the vocals I'm all ears.

Hi there.