How to effectively simulate bass guitar with MIDI keyboard?

Dirk Diggler

[EDIT: If you're going to say "why not just get a real bass guitar?", please don't: I understand that's the ideal goal, but it's just not a solution I can implement right now. I'm looking for ONLY MIDI tips here, not real instruments. Thanks!]

(Preface: I’m a bit of a noob at home recording, so thanks for bearing with me.)

My question concerns basslines.

When I try to program a bassline on my MIDI keyboard (using a bass guitar VSTi), I run into challenges. It’s often hard to make a keyboard sound like a bass.

For instance: if you play an actual bass string really fast, you get a series of closely-connected resonant sounds; but when I hit a MIDI key really fast over and over, I get a series of shorter, more separate sounds, which sound less like a real bass guitar.

For that matter, it’s impossible for me to hit one keyboard key fast enough to equal the speed at which a bass string can be played with a pick (or even with two fingers).

I’m wondering if people here might have tips or techniques for solving these kinds of problems, and for simulating a realistic bass sound in general?

(Not sure if this matters or not, but my DAW is Logic Pro X. I’m currently using Kontakt 6, and the bass guitar VSTi I’m currently working with is Scarbee Bass.)

Thanks!

Last edited: