How Do I Bounce Tracks on an Analog Machine?

alloutdrummer

Hey All--
I'm a newbie, so I have a really dumb question. Currently, I'm using a Fostex 380S to record, mix etc. However, every now and then, i run out of tracks. I was disturbed until I heard about something called "bouncing tracks." Can someone who has a little more experience than I (nearly everyone) help me on how to bounce tracks? Thanks
--Ned

To bounce tracks simply means to record, say, tracks 1, 2 & 3 onto track 4. It should tell you how to do this in the manual (always had TASCAMs myself). Bouncing is OK for mono mixes or if your in a hurry.

What I used to do to get better quality and maintain a stereo mix was to record a submix onto a stereo VCR then transfer that back onto 2 tracks. The trade-off is it only opens up 2 tracks and it takes longer.

Ned

This is off topic but I know an all out drummer called Ned and I just wondered if you were the same one...

Heroic Trio? General Lee?

Or not.

Just wondered...

Matt

Bouncing

alloutdrummer:
It's been a while since I used a multitrack (I assume..cassette??)
1. Do you have the manual?
2. M. Brane put it as straightforward as you're gonna get. Bouncing involves recording existing tracks down onto a free track...thus freeing up your
other 2 or 3 tracks (whatever number your bouncing).
3. You will experience a loss of high end. M. Brane's suggestion is good. You might also try bouncing the signal through an eq to try and regain that high end loss.

Good Luck....:rolleyes:

No Manual

I'm very sorry to say that I don't have the manual as I bought it used off of ebay. can you guys help me at all and tell me a how bouncing is generally done?

Bouncing

Okay, I'll give it a shot...but not knowing the configuration of the unit, this may not work.
1. Assign the track you wish to bounce to. (This is most likely by means of
an led indicating "record ready". Some units have mutli-colored leds.
Green (play) Red (record) Yellow or Orange (monitor).