How can I find bands to record?

keilson

I wasn't sure of the best place to post this. I am still learning and want to find more bands to record. Is there a place online that would be good to advertise for my home studio? I just want experience with as many groups as possible.

Also....In the past I have done production for radio commercials in the Buffalo area. I'm now back home in the New york area and I have friends that do voice overs for my commercials, but would like to find clients. Advice for advertising for this as well?

When tracking the elusive North American Band it's important to understand their feeding and mating habits. A good clue is to look for strippers. If you can find some strippers then there are usually some musicians nearby.

Once you have found an area populated with strippers than you must be patient. Lay out a plate with some weed and a guitar tuner. (The tuner is simply to confuse any bassists that might wander by) When a musician goes for the weed then make your move. But be carefull they are a skittish bunch. Don't look to eager. Any mention of money and they will be gone in a flash. You must use terms like 'creative freedom' and 'ultimate vision' until they are begging for you to record them.

Next week we will discuss how to skin and clean your catch.

Make some biz cards on your pc, and post them up at music stores, cd stores, go check out local bands, hand them out. If you can find the places where bands practice put some cards here and there. Plus when you go to staples or sandwich places they have "drop your biz card in the bucket for a chance to win_____".
Your best bet is to check out local bands, if they dont mention anything about their "cd for $5" during their set, approach them, and say "you guys sound pretty good, if your looking to record a demo, give me a call".

TexRoadkill said: