Home Recording's Dirty Little Secret

What were your home recording expectations vs commercial high end studio recordings?

• Total voters
After being a musician for quite a few years I decided to give recording a try. I had no illusions of grandure (still don't) nor expectations of competing with the pros. I got into recording as a learning experience and I'm still learning. While I can say that I've had some success at getting some decent sounding recordings, I've also made my share of disasters too. My best teacher has been trial & error, I'm not that good with computers so there have been plenty of errors. It has been frustrating at times but it has also been fun learning how music works "from the other side of the desk." I still find it easier to record others than to record myself, maybe I just don't multitask well.

When I was 13 and got a Portastudio, I didn't expect much, but did expect more than I was able to produce :D

Now, I do believe that with enough time and patience, I will get to a point where I am happy. I'm not trying to record anything difficult... just acoustic guitars - all of which I have owned seem to have the same explosive Ab notes that I don't notice when I'm in a store :rolleyes:

...gettin there...

Great thread idea!

My only aim with recording has been to attain the lofty status of 'good enough'. It's not just the equipment or even the musicians, I don't have the weeks of my life to go through pitch-correcting a vocal syllable by syllable. I will never spend a week fiddling with EQ on the snare drum to get the difference between +5dB at 12khz and +5dB at 12.2khz. I have a life outside of that.

Sadly I've not achieved 'good enough' yet even though others have with cheaper gear. So I keep plugging away in the knowledge that plenty of home recorders have stumbled upon a winning formula ............ and in the knowledge that I'm not terribly motivated by sounding like the 'high end studio' releases now anyway.