Help with a dynamic Female voice...

joebear

I'm kind of new to home recording... (New to the forum as well..)

I'm having a hard time keeping my recordings from clipping. (her voice seems to constantly shift between quiet and loud)... I have almost talked myself into getting a compressor but wanted to ask for opinions. I read a few articles, and it seems there are some negative opinions on using compressors on voices...

As for our setup, were using a laundry room deadened with sleeping bags/Carpet as our recording room, Miking about 6 inches from the mike (I think the room acoustics still suck...). Im using a Groove Tubes GT66 and a presonus-MP20 preamp for the vocal, a couple of Shures with Tubpre's for the guitar (which seem to work alright). They all plug into a Yamaha mixer which goes into a audiophile 2496 on my computer. Im using Guitar Tracks Pro as the recording software.

Any Ideas would be welcome....

Thanks,
Joe.

I can't think of too many unapproving of a compressor on a vocal track - Maybe not during tracking "normally," but I have a tendency to limit the problem areas on the way in once in a while. Normally? Maybe not. Sometimes? Certainly.

This would seem to be one of those cases where a little limiting on the way in might not be such a bad idea. Only a few dB, though - Don't go nuts on the way in - There's nothing you can do to fix it later.

DISCLAIMER: Ideally, just lower the input gain so there is no clipping to begin with.

I'd run her through the tune on a "dry run" and adjust the levels where she hits her absolute loudest to -3db or so. It's going to fall off during her quiet passages,but that should be ok. I'm not familiar with your particular software, but if you are recording at 24 bits, the lower levels during the quiet passages shouldn't be a problem.