Gain Staging as I understand really isn't so complex... is it?

Musicianaire

Okay, after much reading and videoing all over the Web the past 2½ days, I've come to this conclusion about Gain Staging (which I'd never heard of until this year): Basically, just make sure nothing clips, while maintaining good headroom! (bold text added after Farview's reply because I neglected to mention it as a given :) )

Whatever method is necessary to accomplish that goal is personal preference, right? I've seen many ways of doing what pretty much comes down to my stated conclusion. I was starting to get mind boggled when I stopped and thought about it. It's only a matter of doing what I've been doing for live sound for 40 years: Set the Master to unity (-0dB), and adjust the levels of faders and perpiherals accordingly; just don't let anything clip.

Am I right, or have I still missed a point or two?

Even my past recording projects have worked around that principle: don't let stuff clip. I was even a bit wary of clipping with analog sound, though I knew I could get away with it.

Just wanted to get some confirmation - or correction - of my thoughts before going forward. I totally understand how to keep everything from recording too hot, and if that's what it boils down to, then I'm good to go.

Last edited:
Kind of.

I look at gain staging as keeping everything humming along at line level between processors. So, you set the mic preamp so it outputs line level, then the signal goes to something else which you will adjust the output of so the signal is coming out of it at line level, and so on.

That's all it is.

Clipping is when you run out of headroom, so being close to clipping means that you are using up most of your headroom, which isn't always good.

Musicianaire said:
It's only a matter of doing what I've been doing for live sound for 40 years: Set the Master to unity (-0dB), and adjust the levels of faders and perpiherals accordingly; just don't let anything clip.