fake live recording!!

Pughbert

i am a young songwriter who plays a lot in a local band. Im a guitarist/ songwriter who sings a bit. I record a lot at home alone, as this is how i go about writing.

I want to creat a few live tracks, without the hastle of a live recording.

I know it can be done cause i have spoke with a record producer who has done it a few times.

I was just wondering if anyone has done it and what tricks you can offer?

Got news for ya... most commercial live recordings are "fake" in that they may only contain a couple live tracks (including the audience) but the rest is mostly studio overdubs.......

KISS did it with their famous live album. Took a few live tracks, overdubbed everything else, triple tracked the audience so it sounded huge.

My friend talked his son into doing the lead voc. on The Beatles "I wanna hold your hand" He was about 14 at the time and his voice sounded like Skreech. He then overdubbed crowd noise off a live beatles record...girls screaming hysterically. It's the funniest thing you ever heard.
He'll be able to blackmail him with this for years to come.

right thats interesting - and tricks ?

heres what i have in my plan alrealy,

- DI acoustic as it would be live
- E.Guitar a little louder than i normal record it
- Drums as is
- Bass I always record DI as the bass amp i have has a real nice XLR DI output
- Vox done throu sm57, no pop screen, again as it would be live and also not over perfecting the vocal performance.

I intend to add a touch extra reverb to the mix to add to the live stage sound.

I have croud noise samples to use

And extra advice?

yes, take your crowd noise samples, and then record everything else in the studio. Thats how real professional live recording are done.

i've got a song that opens with an acoustic coffee shop type of thing before it starts rockin out..

just go somewhere where theres people talking or cheering and take a tape recorder.

that did the trick for me.