condenser or dynamic mic in presense of background noise

sam123

Hi,

I'm a newbie just before buying an audio interface and a mic. I don't have a studio setting so I'll be recording in my bed room. So is it better buying a dynamic mic since condenser mics are high sensitive and will take background noise (like vehicle sounds, birds). Do the background noises more noticeable in condensers than with dynamics?

Also which gives more warm, fuller sounds if I'm recording vocals (my budget is below $100 for a mic)?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Typically yes, a condenser mic will likely 'pick up' more of your room sounds, including the birds in your neighbors yard, if you do not have a soundproofed room. They can also cause havoc in an acoustically untreated room. That is not to say that a condenser mic is the wrong choice. More likely to make a crappy room sound like it is; crappy, yes. Will a dynamic mic sound better, maybe. Will a crappy condenser or crappy dynamic make a crappy room sound better than....well you get my point.

What are your goals, and what gear do you already have? That will make a big difference as to what could be recommended. Oh, and the environment you are recording in.

There are possibilities, but it just depends on what it is you expect from such a low budget. Low price does not typically equate to quality, though there are degrees of useful results.

All of it makes a difference.

Hi,

I have attached a cover (part) of Comfortably Numb, which I did using a cheap clip mic for both vocals and the guitar. Recorded in my bed room using Audacity, which is the recording environment I have and will have, and ambient noises are even there in this sample. Please excuse my singing, I'm doing them just for fun, not a professional guitarist, vocalist nor a band member. :)