Best setup for opera recordings and music lessons at home

tonkoch

Hi all,

I am a semi-professional opera singer (i.e. not professional, but training), soprano, based in Oxford, UK; as a result of the pandemic, all lessons and performances have moved online, necessitating me suddenly to learn a lot more about recording equipment, and I would like to invest in equipment that will allow me to function well in the confines of my home. I am a complete noobie when it comes to tech, so any assistance would be very gratefully received.

There are 2 purposes I have essentially:

1) Having singing lessons with my teacher via Skype/Zoom. Presentation of these doesn't matter, but sound quality needs to be representative/good. My basic laptop/iPad microphone basically doesn't work - the high notes cut out, although it sometimes just about works if I stand 3-4 metres away and face sideways.

2) Making audio and video recordings at home for auditions [I tried to post a link but can't because this is my first post - you can find a representative recording on the Youtube page for Eglesfield Music Society; I am Antonida Kocharova - it's quite easy to find].
The setup for these currently is: the piano recording is made separately (the pianist in this case is the same, but may vary - this is outside my control); I listen to the backing track through headphones (Bluetooth); I record both sound and video on a GoPro; I mix the audio tracks separately using Audacity; I mix the video tracks separately using Lightworks (free version); I then mix audio and video together using (don't laugh) Windows Photos.

One of the key issues for me for recordings is that I want to be able to record video at the same time as sound, and I need to be able to act, so I need my venue to look suitable enough to be a 'stage', and I need to be able to move around.

The venues currently available to me are: