Best practice recording from a mixing desk

BlueWotsit57

Hi everyone, hoping this forum can help me with a couple of questions which I have.

First and foremost I am a photographer not a musician. One of my young friends is an up and coming musician - singing and playing guitar

We have been experimenting with recording him performing live both at home and in pubs.

At present he has a small Alto ZMX122fx mixing desk, which he connects his microphone and guitar to, if a friend joins in a keyboard is also connected, and then sends the output straight to a single Behringer speaker.

What we are trying to do is capture the sound to a good level with the view to producing a promo video for him, to this end he has purchased a Zoom H4n Pro recorder unit.

Recording using the twin built in mics the sound is good but sadly as expected in a pub environment you get all the shouting and cursing etc also captured. At home he can connect direct to the unit but cannot setup the settings he would via the desk.

What we would like to do is if possible take the sound out from the mixing desk straight into the xlr connections on the Zoom recorder.

Where we are experiencing issues on quality is identifying the best way of sending the sound from the mixing desk to the recorder.

Any advice on which outlets to use and other settings would be great. The outlet options that are obvious on the desk are twin RCA, twin CTRL room and twin main mix

The other question linked into this is can the sound from a microphone and the guitar individually be sent to separate recording channels with this setup or as implied the output is always mixed by the desk

Thanks in hope

You can go out of the desk and into the Zoom via a pair of RCA to 6.5mm jack leads. The Zoom has combo inputs, which means you can use either XLR (for mics) or jack (for line in) as inputs.