Best mic for home office with children in the house?

Michael Stalker

I'm a programmer. I started working from home two months ago, and don't have the ideal audio setup, yet. I have four children, and my co-workers can often hear them through my Samson Meteor mic. My co-workers can also hear an echo when they talk; my mic picks up the voice output from my desktop speakers.

I'm looking for the best mic for my situation.

Here's my current setup:
* Samson Meteor mic for my input
* Yamaha YST-MS30 speakers for my output
* I have the mic in front of the speakers, positioned such if the speakers are at 12 o'clock on my desk, the mic is pointed at 5 o'clock.
* I sometimes put my mic in a portable vocal booth. This helps cut down the ambient noise some, but not a ton.
* My mic is about 2 feet from my mouth.
* My mic is pointed away from the office door

I'd prefer not to use a headset or headphones, and I'd prefer to use desktop speakers. I talk with others for a few hours every day, and wearing headphones gets uncomfortable.

I'm not sure how relevant this is, but:
* I'm planning on getting hardwood floors in my office
* I'm planning on getting solid core doors to cut down on the noise from my children
* I'm considering getting a mic stand with a boom, getting the mic closer to my mouth, and decreasing the input volume

Could you suggest a better mic? It would be great if they made mics that picked up sound in exactly one direction. Or, if you think the Meteor mic isn't the problem, could you suggest any ways to cut down on the echo and the ambient noise?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Generally speaking, condensor microphones and speakers at the same time is a recipe for feedback. The Sampson is doing what a large diaphragm condenser is supposed to do: pick up every nuance of what is happening in front of it, along with all of the room reflections, echoes, ambient noise, etc. Moving it closer to your face and turning down the gain is a good first step.