badvocal?

baz66

I am new to all this studio stuff but it's fun learning. Hope I can get some help.
Have set up a small studio in a small room approx. 4mx 4m.
I recorded a backing track from my korg to studio and then my vocalist sang the vocal part. When I played back just the vocal, the backing is in the background.(very soft) I'm still reading the manual so I hope I can learn a bit quicker. I only have one brain and that's well worn.
Can I get rid of the unwanted sound or do we have to rerecord with certain fx on. Hope I've put this right.
baz

Korg what? Keyboard? Playing the sound through speakers? Well, then, yes, the mic is going to pick some of that up. You can try to remove it using various techniques form phase reversal of hte orignal track, to expensive plug-ins, but in reality just re-record the vocal track and this time have the singer use closed-back headphones (no speakers!) to monitor the Korg sound.

Do you mean the backing is audible during vocal performance or you can hear it in the spaces between? If it's only audible in the spaces between vocal phrases, etc, you can just gate it out. I get this even with my headphones on occasion and it's simple just to turn on a gate in the DAW's vocal channel and just turn up the threshold until the background goes away.
If, however, you mean it's audible with the vocal, you'll need to redo like Mike suggested.

Baz... maaaaate.... you need to work on your questions. We have no idea what your "Korg" is...

Did you, perchance, have the backing track playing audibly whilst your singer was singing? And the microphone picked it up. Or playing very loudly in the cans he/she/it was wearing? Both will cause the effect you describe...

Re-record it. You're just learning. It's part of the journey.

Hey I'm a aussie. We don't tell anyone anything. Hmmm Or is that just me? Thank you for the advice. Yes the backing was way in the background and I realised that when she was singing, the sm58 was facing the wrong way.