Analog or Digital Equalizer for snare?

nelsonpaschoal

Hello Friends,

I have another question for ya, saturday I was recording drums in my studio, if you want to check up here it is: , it´s unmixed, just just the bass drum. The snare is the heart of the drum, IMHO, I am a drummer too. To track the snare I set as this: SM57 > M-Audio DMP-3 > compressor > Mackie Onyx line channel > computer , after that I run equalizers in the daw, but I was wondering if i can improve the sound inserting a parametric equalizer in the chain or eq´ing in the daw can do the job?

These things all change the sound. Improvement is something totally different and an artistic decision. You've already got a complex and potentially degrading signal chain with the two quite decent preamps using the analogue compressor in between - have you tried the Onyx direct from the mic and added compression in the computer - might sound even nicer? Some compressors are nice and transparent, others far less so.

I pick EQ from what I have available and will be most appropriate for the sound. I cannot imagine me going back to external compression and eq.

The compressor is not a problem, I have a very decent unit. I like the analog feeling, because it adds a personality of the studio, I listen to some bands and sounds almost the same "studio" recording, the drums all replaced with digital sounds, guitar direct to amp simulator, I really love the 80´s death metal recording, I know my limitations but the more I approach that sound the better.
I tried to put direct into Onyx, but it sound no good to me, I prefer the snare in the m-audio preamp.

If you already feel you are most of the way there I would go with plug in eq. As has been pointed out you are already going through enough outboard to cause some signal loss and the more cables you add the more that can go wrong. Plus once you get the plugin eq set the way you like you can create a preset and never have to mess with it again unless you want to.