Acoustic Guitar Recording 101

Yet another noob here, with 44+ years of noodling on strings and things!

@ WS - Simply an awesome post, kept me riveted until the last page.
Looks like I might have found a "home" here!
I'll just use what techno audio gear I have been able to acquire inexpensively and hope for the best, that is until I can shell out the dough for the NT5's and a good pre.
My "studio" is in its infancy. I do have the "luxury" of 10+ ft ceilings in an 1892 home :D

The last time I called Seagull they expressed no interest in building me a lefty, :confused: not the one I wanted anyway. So I have a Taylor DN3, really sweet, great smile factor.

I "dyin" for my Ebay'ed gear to arrive so I can begin the experiment.
(Hope I didn't screw up and get blue XLR's)
iMac 3GHZ, 4GB RAM, 10 TB Firewire, GarageBand, Alesis iO|2 (USB:( ), E-MU X-Board 25, AKG K240 cans, Samson C15 CL, Bluetube DP, Fostex PM-1's

Any chance I can get a "decent" start with this gear?
At least I have a "clue" as to mic placement, dbl trackin' and such.

Since I intend to record virtually every stringed acoustic instrument (bluegrass) I should be in a position to post some topics of "relevance" :cool:
Mic'ing a banjo has got to be a thrill :eek:

FWIW: Finding all the instruments left handed was quite a chore :(

Bottom line - Thx for taking the time to document your methods, even brave enough to share the naked leads :o

Great post!
I want to know a little more about the processing. Were the only two effects that you used a MBC and reverb, and what versions are you using? What daw are you recording in?

Yet another noob here, with 44+ years of noodling on strings and things!

@ WS - Simply an awesome post, kept me riveted until the last page.
Looks like I might have found a "home" here!
I'll just use what techno audio gear I have been able to acquire inexpensively and hope for the best, that is until I can shell out the dough for the NT5's and a good pre.