achieving that clear sound

joemeshuggah

...ok...im pretty new to the whole recording thing...probably my biggest interest right now is achieving that 3 dimensional stereo sound that comes through on professionally done recordings...i can come relatively close with everything but the bass guitar...i know with guitar tracks (i think, at least) you want to record two tracks and then pan them pretty hard...is this true for the bass as well? it doesnt seem like its done on pro recordings...but ive noticed on my bands demo or when i try to record stuff on my own at home the bass just totally kills the quality of the recording....like it puts a huge fog over everything. any tips or suggestions? (just so you know for my bands demo we didnt use any amps...just plugged direct through a compressor...for my home recordings i generally dont use mics on anything...i just use an amp simulator and plug direct through that with the bypass.)

Typically, bass is panned straight down the middle. If you are looking for a more "3 dimensional sound" you could experiment with doubling the bass track and panning it hard left and right (like the guitars) or actually recording a stereo bass using a Y-cable.

Also, how are you recording the bass? You mention everything is direct with a modeler. Are you using a bass modeler or are you recording the bass straight into the recorder? It's very possible that the tone (or lack thereof) of the bass needs to change, which can be easily remedied with a bass modeler. You might also benefit from using a mic preamp.

Consider too that your problem may not be the bass so much as the guitars. Are the lows of your guitars emphasized? Might want to consider cutting the lows and giving the bass a little more room to work in.

Cy