what software to transfer from 4-track to PC?

Philby_Walsh

I have recently purchased a tascam 414 mk2 and want to transfer these to my PC as I have a CD burner.

what software should I use(It nearly has to be free as Im a struggling student)? I only want to do minor work with them when I transfer them to the PC (noise reduction, small amt. of echo/compression/delay etc.)

When I transfer my music from the 4-track to the software will it keep my 4 individual tracks intact so I can manipulate them seperately or will it take it as a whole track?

Thanks a lot guys.
I think I'm going to like this place :)

cheers man.

I took a look at the site and it looks good but im not sure if you can edit/add effects each track seperately. can you??

cheers for your time.

Goldwave is a 2 track editor.

If you want to retain individual control over each track you will need some multitracker software. www.fasoft.com will do the job.

Ideally you want a 4 input soundcard. Otherwise, you could do it in 2 passes. If you have space/lead time at the start of the tape, record a click or two (on all four tracks at once, click can be anything, tapping on a mic stand, doesn't need to be in time) so you can line up the 2 sets of 2 tracks once you get to digital land. This won't guarantee perfect sync, four-tracks drift like any other mechanical device, but will make it a little easier. Your 4-track may not be able to record 4 tracks at one time, you will have to look at the specs.

In the case you can get a four-input soundcard: First of all, you need to look if your 4-track has 4 independent outputs, 'cause in my case I have a Porta 07 Tascam and it only has the stereo and monitor outputs, so anyway you have to record 2 tracks at a time.

But believe me: Do so ONLY IF YOU HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE. It's a real pain in the *** getting them to sync. I've tried it!

:rolleyes: