What extra kit should I get to make half-decent classical piano recordings?

seb1982

Hi!

I stumbled across this forum today and just had to join - what a fantastic resource!

I'm a relatively decent classical pianist, and have tried many times over the years to make recordings for friends and family, but always given up before achieving anything I was happy with. I recently bought a digital PCM recorder (Olympus LS-14), and have been AMAZED at how far technology has come on in the last few years - these recordings don't sound *too* bad!

So, my interest has been re-ignited, and I'd love to give it another shot, but with half-decent kit. I'm just at a bit of a loss of what to get now everything's gone digital!

I already own a Behringer UB1832 FX-PRO analogue mixing desk, and a pair of Behringer B2-Pro condenser mics.

One of the major problems I had before, using these, was the whole recording level being too low, as otherwise it would distort at the piano's maximum volume. The Olympus' built-in "music limiter" setting really helps with this. Any ideas on how to combat it with "proper recording" would be appreciated. Would a light touch with a compressor work, do you think? Or should I just record digitally it at that lower level, and then rectify it in software?

Speaking of which, I'm just using the Audacity freeware at the moment. Any advice on not-too-expensive, suitable software would be most welcome.

I guess my queries boil down to:

Should I get a better quality A/D converter / recorder? It can't be ideal going from a mixing desk to a 3.5mm jack into the Olympus PCM recorder, can it?

Or should I just bite the bullet and buy a whole new digital mixing desk?

Would a compressor be useful for classical piano? I note that some digital mixing desks have simplified compressors included on the channels - I have no idea how good these are...

What DAW software would you recommend for simple classical piano use?