What equipment should I buy - recording piano + vocal

renathy

My kid is:
a) playing Yamaha P115 + singing
b) playing non-digital piano + singing
c) playing piano without singing
d) singing without playing piano :D

What equipment is needed to be able to record all these situations at home (so not at professional but absolute beginners level)?
Probably microphone, anything else?!
How recording is done actually, which system is doing recording (can it be computer or it should be any other equipment)?

P.S. I understand nothing about this, I am really noob. We do not have microphone yet.

That's a lot of scenarios.

So, yes, you will need at least a microphone to record the vocals and acoustic piano. A single microphone (or digital recorder) is difficult to use to capture both a piano and vocal, but for "absolute beginner" level, sure, it can be done. It could also work for the Yamaha if recording the sound from the built-in speakers is all you want to do.

If you or your sonchild want to record the keyboard directly from the audio (aux) outputs that will require using an "audio interface" that is capable of accepting both the keyboard output and a microphone, or a more "pro-sumer" type of digital recorder capable of accepting that input.

Do you have a computer capable of doing the audio capture or mixing? What's your technical interest in learning how to do all of this?

Last edited:
My kid is:
a) playing Yamaha P115 + singing
b) playing non-digital piano + singing
c) playing piano without singing
d) singing without playing piano :D

What equipment is needed to be able to record all these situations at home (so not at professional but absolute beginners level)?
Probably microphone, anything else?!

Hi there,
It's very easy to go wrong! :)

The Yamaha P115 has left and right auxiliary outs, so I'd probably use those.
There's a few reasons...Recording a line out is like recording what you hear through the headphones. It's consistent, sounds good already,