What equipment do I need for therapy headphones!

nickrw

OK, perhaps a slightly unusual request for this forum but as I'm new to this subject I don't really know what I should be Googling to help myself.

I need to purchase some equipment but don't know what I need. Scenario is my wife is a Clinical Psychologist and wants to do mindfulness and hypnotherapy with patients. Her room is often noisy from the road outside. I want a way to make use of my Bose QC35 (or QC15) headphones with active noise cancellation to drown out the unwanted noise, but then feed her voice into them via a mic.

I know of course I can't just connect the mic to the headphones, but I've no idea what we need, this isn't my area of expertise. Obviously we don't really want a rack of sound equipment just for this specific task. I'd thought of a battery powered headphone amp with a line in, but am I right in thinking I can't plug a mic into this as the levels are wrong?

I have a cheap lapel mic, but it's omnidirectional so picks up all the unwanted sound too. I think I need a cardoid mic, but should it by dynamic or condensing? It's only speech, she won't be singing! It needs to be wearable as she isn't sat at a desk.

Also, as the headphones are bluetooth, using that would be great option, but would this cause a delay in the sound? I found a mobile app that would do this, but the delay was unbearable, it needs to be real time.

Sorry for the newbie question, I'm sure what I need is simple!