Using a Yamaha keyboard as a midi controller

James Jameson

Hi! Thanks in advance for answering me.

I record with Ableton Live 9 Suite and i'm a bit of a noob to set-up correcly.
Basically, I have a E313 Yamaha Keyboard that I'd like to use as a MIDI controller. I'm plugged correctly (I think so) into my computer and Ableton recognizes a "USB 2.0-MIDI". I've tried to update my preferences and put all the MIDI ports on and all, but my computer keyboard is still used as a midi controller... I don't know what to do!

Any help would be appreciated.
James

Since the PSR-E313 has MIDI ports, I take it you're using a MIDI-to-USB adapter, or maybe a USB audio interface that has a MIDI port?

I have Ableton Live (Lite) and a PSR-E443 keyboard, so I should be able to help you as long as there isn't some kind of technical problem with the MIDI connection. I'll post again later after I've switched over to my other computer that my keyboards are connected to.

In the meantime, can you clarify what exactly you're trying to do-- (a) use the PSR-E313 to input Note events and record them in a track, or (b) use the PSR-E313 to play virtual instruments "live"?

Since the PSR-E313 has MIDI ports, I take it you're using a MIDI-to-USB adapter, or maybe a USB audio interface that has a MIDI port?

I have Ableton Live (Lite) and a PSR-E443 keyboard, so I should be able to help you as long as there isn't some kind of technical problem with the MIDI connection. I'll post again later after I've switched over to my other computer that my keyboards are connected to.

In the meantime, can you clarify what exactly you're trying to do-- (a) use the PSR-E313 to input Note events and record them in a track, or (b) use the PSR-E313 to play virtual instruments "live"?

Hi! Thanks for the reply!
I indeed use a MIDI to USB adaptater, but I'm not sure how I need to plug it in my computer... Do I plug both wires (input and output)?