USB Mixer Mono Input Problem

stevey

Hey, I recently purchased a Behringer Xenyx Q802 USB Mixer. Here is a link:

Behringer: XENYX Q802USB

I bought this recently for teaching and recording purposes. It seems decent enough for what I want out of it, but I am having a problem.

Everything is working fine except for the two mono channels. When recording vocals through either of these inputs with a SM58, the sound is terrible. The best way I can think of describing it is as a gurgling sound. Figuring it might be the microphone, or the XLR lead I was plugging it in with, I tested my electronic drum kit through these two inputs, but yet again, the sound is awful. I am having absolutely no trouble with the stereo inputs, the sound is great out of them. But these two mono inputs are effectively unusable.

I am completely new to stuff like this, so I do wonder if I am missing something obvious here. Or is it possible that this unit is faulty? Any help with this issue would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Hi Stevey and welcome.
So it is the two microphone inputs that are crook? The common factor is the 48V phantom power, as you have a 58 dynamic you don't need it, is it turned off?

But, as ever, post a short clip.

Dave.

I think Arcaxis is on the right track...that sound as described could be some form of compression artefact, particularly as it's cheap and nasty compression. Definitely turn both compression knobs all the way down.

Yes, the phantom power is another common feature but unless your cables are wired incorrectly it shouldn't matter if it's accidentally left on. It's also unlikely to cause a "gurgling" sound.

But, as always, posting a sample will help.

"Yes, the phantom power is another common feature but unless your cables are wired incorrectly it shouldn't matter if it's accidentally left on. It's also unlikely to cause a "gurgling" sound."