Total Newbie....Need help with Setup

Kymera

Basically. im a guitarist and i've recently formed my first band. i've been playing for a while but this is my first band. Our equipment is feeble....and attempts at recording even worse. Basically....given a budget of say......under 2000 what should i be buying assuming i have no equipment at all. i'll give you a list of all equipment whether useful or not. So far i have...my guitar. (heh heh), a 3 channel 2nd hand amp (samick, pretty shitty) which i have just blown and have to get fixed, we have 2 mics, a pc witha decent 4 channel sound card and various softare including cakewalk. So far all i've done is used one mic, shoved it in the middle of the room to capture the music, very crude i know, we only use it to get ideas down. but we wanna start recording some at least half decent demos. Any help on what equipment, techniques, or anything at all you think i should know, would be greatly appreciated. btw...in 6months i will be starting a producing course which should increase my knowledge greatly...but for now..i need help. cheers

there we go:

you lucky ** that you already have that 4ch soundcard!
You could try to fix the mixer, but with this soundcard it would be great to get yourself a 8- or 16 ch mixer with 4 groups, to which you can assign your channels to. The outputs of the groups are going to the inputs of your computer. You are now able to record 4 different channels at once.

Now, where to record it on? I would say for a beginner Cool Edit Pro or N-track, there's enough info about these progs around here. They're very cheap and very good for what you intend to do.

As you know the basic of a good sounding guitar is the guitar itself and the amp. So, the way to let things you mic'ed sound best, buy good mic's. The famous shure sm58 is always good and not so expensive (but definitely not too cheap!). Buy yourself 3 or 4 of such.